a cathartic whinge about self-righteous and indignant author-poets

I need your help considering what to do about this twit-poet i’m working with.

Because I love poetry, I really do. But sometimes working with poets really toots my whistle. Here is how I want to respond to one especially indignant author I’m working with (i’m in bold):

p156 again epigraph looks crappy plus we should put the bit I brackets not all in italics. Also, in this poem ‘A physiological law’ – all the formatting is awry – just see original) too many too enumerate here – it’s all indenting Way to get a typesetter offside, poet. You sound like a self-important twit. If you had wanted perfect formatting reflected back to you in the proofs, you might have considered the way you set up your Word file, which made setting this book unnecessarily laborious for me. I would normally keep that to myself, but calling the epigraphs ‘crappy’ is just a cheap shot. Express your aesthetic opinion and leave it at that, okay. Mind your language or I’ll withhold the notes about all the errors I’ve found.

Too right it’s all bloody indenting! Content-free indenting, as far as i can discern.

Here is how I should respond – because it’s not worth picking battles with twats:

p156 again epigraph looks crappy plus we should put the bit I brackets not all in italics. Also, in this poem ‘A physiological law’ – all the formatting is awry – just see original) too many too enumerate here – it’s all indenting Please be more considerate when giving instructions.  Not all of these errors I’m fixing are mine.

But even as i wrote and emphasised the word ‘should’ i thought, What a sellout! The respectable thing to do would be to not retaliate – but i don’t even value respectability, as i expressed in this post about shitting in someone’s garden. But why should i let this jerk push me around. Well, i guess, to feel pushed around i would have to be exerting force in the opposite direction. I could choose to not care. Would it be equally self-important to give any more energy to this – to make any further efforts toward demonstrating that he is wrong in talking to me this way. I think so, yes. The right course of action is to choose not to care. It’s only because i’m sleep-deprived that i would care anyway.

But still, what do you think?

3 thoughts on “a cathartic whinge about self-righteous and indignant author-poets

  1. I ended up telling it like it is – without the bit about him sounding like a self-important twit, which seemed like as much of a cheap shot as him calling my design skillz “crappy”. *stamps foot* My design skillz are mad, not crappy. *folds arms* I’m tired of tip-toeing around arrogant authors, swallowing my pride and letting them get away with feeling better than everyone else. I still feel like a whinger though. Someone call the wahmbulance! *wails sarcastically*

Leave a Reply

